Learning and Teaching

Learning and Teaching

St Mary’s Catholic School is a Professional Learning Community (PLC). Our educators work in collaborative teams and focus on the following three big ideas:

  • Focus on learning rather than teaching
  • Work collaboratively on matters related to learning
  • Hold themselves accountable for the kinds of results that fuel continual improvement

St Mary’s has a highly skilled and dedicated team of teachers and support staff, who provide quality teaching and engaging learning experiences for students in addition to supporting students individually with personalised programs.

Stages of Learning

St Mary’s follows the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) curriculum, based on stages of learning. Each stage is approximately equivalent to two school years. For each learning stage there are skills, knowledge and a level of understanding that each student should develop.

Early Stage 1

Stage 1
Years 1 & 2

Stage 2
Years 3 & 4

Stage 3
Years 5 & 6

Stage 4
Years 7 & 8

Stage 5
Years 9 & 10